Asanas and Chakras Workshop

The physical body can be understood as a reservoir of energy. According to quantum physicists, what we perceive as solid matter is actually 99.99% empty space filled with energy. According to Western science there are two primary electrical systems in the physical body. The first is electrical alternation: the current of the nervous system and the brain that governs our muscles, hormones and physical sensations; the second is a continuous electromagnetic radiation from our atoms that allows an exchange of energy between us and our environment. Therefore we can say that there is an energetic body that has a direct relationship with the health and well-being of the physical body.


The Chakra system originated in India more than four thousand years ago. The chakras were referred to in the ancient literature of the Vedas, the later Upanishads, the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali and further in the 16th century in a text called Sat-Chakra-Nirupana. In the 1920s, the Chakras were brought to the West by Arthur Avlon with his book, “The Power of the Serpent.


On the other hand, the word “Chakras” is derived from the Sanskrit: Chakra, which means “wheel” or circle. It refers to a gyrosphere of bioenergetic activity. They are considered energy centers or Prana, qi (Chinese); ki (Japanese), bios (Greek) and ether (English). The function of the Chakras is to rotate and attract this energy to maintain the spiritual, mental, emotional and physical health of the body.  The energy passes through the chakras in constant dynamism flowing through the energy channels called Nadis. According to the Hatha Yoga Pradipika, in the body we have 72,000 of these nadis.


There are three main nadis: Ida, Pingala and Shushuma nadi. The latter is located in what corresponds to the spinal column and connects the sacrum with the skull. It is the central subtle nerve of our entire system. All other nadis originate in Sushuma, coming out of Mulhadara chakra, the first of the Chakras.


Ida is where apana flows, negative manifestation of prana. It is a force related to the moon, which flows downwards. It is connected to the left nostril, the left side of the body and the right hemisphere of the brain. It is a force with feminine qualities.  It represents the mental force (manas shakti) and exerts its influence on the left side of the physical body. It influences the parasympathetic nervous system, which regulates the internal processes of the organism, and acts as a muscular relaxant, lowering the body temperature.


Pingala has masculine qualities, is related to the sun and is a positive polarity, flowing upwards. It is related to the right side of the body, the right nostril and the left hemisphere of the brain. It has the ability to generate heat, while Ida lowers the temperature. It represents the vital force (prana shakti) and influences the right side of the body. It plays the role of an accelerator and is energizing. It is associated with the sympathetic nervous system and prepares the organism for action in the outside world. In the physical body activates the heart rate, increases muscle tension and body temperature.


The points of the column where Ida, Pingal and Sushuma meet give origin to the main Chakras; Shushuma main channel, and Ida and Pingala, crossing for him drawing a form of snake.


Each of these major Chakras is often associated with a particular color, are also associated with multiple physiological functions, an aspect of consciousness, a classic element and other distinctive characteristics. They are visualized as lotuses / flowers with a different number of petals in each Chakra. There are thus seven (6+1) main Chakras in the body:  Muladhara or “Root Support” at the base of the spinal column with four petals; the Swadhisthana or “Self Abode” at the root of the genitals with six; the Manipura or “Fullness of the Jewels” at the level of the navel with ten petals;  Anahata or “Unbeaten Melody” in the center of the heart; the Vishuddha or “Complete Purity” in the throat with sixteen; and finally the Ajna or “guru’s command” in the forehead with two petals. The center of the crown, the Sahasrara-padma or thousand petals Lotus, located at the top of the head, technically speaking is not a Chakra at all, but the sum of all Chakras.


Chakras allow us to understand the relationship between our consciousness and our body, and thus see the body as a map of our consciousness. It gives us a greater understanding of ourselves. When we feel some discomfort or tension in a certain part of the body, that effect is experienced by the Chakra that corresponds to that part. The tension in that particular Chakra is detected by the nerves of that Chakra region. This tension, when it remains for a long period of time at a constant level of intensity, derives in some kind of symptom that is the manifestation of the chakra.


The Chakras are also linked to the glands responsible for creating the hormones, the positions of the Chakras correspond to the positions of the glands in the endocrine system and have an effect on their functioning. The links between the Chakras and the glands emphasizes the holistic nature of health and demonstrates that it is necessary to maintain a balance in their emotional, mental and physical activities.


With this in mind, this workshop is focused on working the asanas from the point of view of the 7 main chakras of the body. Focus the practice so that we can stimulate from the Mulhadhara Chakra to Sahasrara Chakra, awakening the consciousness of the part of the body where they correspond with their corresponding improvement in the flow of energy. All this with the final “objective” of sitting in meditation with the central channel (sushumna nadi) as clean and unblocked as possible. During the practice of the asanas the main characteristics of each of the chakras will also be explained.

Students paying by direct debit 15€

30 November
From 17h to 20h


Ferran Calvó